Home >>  Sister Cities
Metro Manila


Located on the southwest of Luzon Island on the eastern shore of Manila Bay, Metro Manila is the economic, political, and cultural centre of the Philippines. With over 12 million inhabitants living on 636 square kilometers, it is one of the largest Asian cities and showcases the combination of tradition and modernity. Metro Manila consists of the city of Manila and some other surrounding cities and municipalities that are administrated separately.

Since Metro Manila and Shanghai established sister-city relationship on 15 June 1983, the two sides have exchanged visits of senior officials.