Home >>  Sister Cities
Central Denmark Region


After the 2007 Danish Municipal Reform, Aarhus was merged with three other neighboring counties to create the Central Denmark Region. Located on the north-central portion of the Jutland peninsula, it is the largest in land area among all five regions, covering a total of 13,142 square kilometers, and has a population of 1.2 million. The working population of the region amounts to 610,000 people, equivalent to 23% of the nations total, who are mainly in such sectors as trade, service, manufacturing and agriculture. Business services, construction, hospitality and catering are the fastest-growing industries.

On 10 November 2003, Shanghai and Aarhus County officially entered into a twinning relationship. After the Central Denmark Region (including former Aarhus County) was created in 2007, Shanghai continued with the relationship and renewed the twinning agreement on 17 March 2008. The two sides have conducted exchange in a wide range of areas, such as science and technology, urban development, culture, education, health and environmental protection.